I’ll huff and I’ll puff…..

Fridays are library days at school for P. Last week he came back with ‘Three little pigs’. It has been one of his favourite ever since I read it out to him as a toddler. His rendering of ‘I’ll huff and I’ll puff and I’ll blow your house away’ is much loved in our friends and family circle. Despite having 2 books of his own he was most thrilled about the library book.

We read all 3 (own and library) books quite a few times and P kept blowing everything in sight saying, ‘I’ll huff and I’ll …’

On a whim I decided to make our own 3 little pigs, big bad wolf and all so that the story can be dramatised further.

Image

I pulled out craft sticks, tape and googly eyes and we quickly made our 3 little pigs.

Image

For the big bad wolf I got P to paint a toilet roll black as I cut out the ears, tongue and teeth. P happily glued them all in place and we had our very own mean version of big bad wolf

Image

For the straw and stick house, I just did a basic folding of A 4 paper. I used an old piggy bank for the cement house and we were all set.

Image

I read the story and P enacted it by moving the stick pigs around and making the big bad wolf huff and puff. He squealed with delight when the straw and stick houses fell and when the strong cement house didn’t budge.

Image

The pigs and the wolf kept him occupied most of the week leaving us just the weekend to do other art projects

3 thoughts on “I’ll huff and I’ll puff…..

Leave a Reply

